Jerome Fellowships

Jerome Foundation

The Playwrights’ Center Jerome Fellowships are awarded annually, providing emerging American playwrights with funds and services to aid them in the development of their craft. Fellows receive an $18,000 stipend in addition to $2,000 in development support. Fellows spend a year-long residency in Minnesota, working in an individualized and hands-on way with the Playwrights’ Center artistic staff—some of the most experienced and connected theater professionals in the country. Beyond the financial stipend, the value of fellowships is more than doubled with the year-long support the Playwrights’ Center adds through workshops with professional directors, dramaturgs, and actors and through the connections the Center makes between playwrights and producers of new work. This holistic and customized combination of financial support, access to talent, and professional connections is career-changing for most playwrights.

Applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States. Applicants may not have had more than two different works fully produced by professional theaters at the time of the application. Fellows commit to spending the 12-month fellowship period in Minnesota and actively participating in the Center's programs. Housing and travel are not provided. Playwrights may not receive more than two Jerome Fellowships. A previous Jerome Fellowship recipient applying for a second fellowship must submit a different play than the play that accompanied the successful previous application. Recipients may not receive any other Playwrights' Center fellowships or grants during the fellowship year.

The Playwrights’ Center has awarded these fellowships in partnership with the Jerome Foundation since 1976. Past recipients include Lee Blessing,  Lisa D’Amour, Kristoffer Diaz, Dan Dietz, Sarah Gubbins, Naomi Iizuka, Melanie Marnich, Anna Moench, Joe Waechter, Rhiana Yazzie, Martín Zimmerman, and August Wilson.

A year in residence at the Playwrights' Center is enough to change someone's life if they maximize the opportunities that are available to them. I can say in confidence that my Jerome Fellowship at the Playwrights' Center was the starting point of my career as a playwright.
—Josh Wilder
Jerome Fellow, 2014-15

Questions may be addressed to artistic programs administrator Julia Brown at

The Jerome Fellowship application will open in September 2018 at the link below.

Click here to access the Jerome Fellowship application »

January 11, 2018
Jerome Fellow
Jerome Fellow