Headshot of Lauren Wimmer, smiling while wearing a black dress
Lauren Wimmer
Affiliated Writer
New York, NY

Lauren Wimmer writes about loneliness, fear, and death in ways that make people say, "hahaha."

Her plays have been produced or developed at Cave Theatre Co., Dixon Place, Sewanee Writers' Conference, Panndora Productions, The Tank, Play by Play, The Dramatists Guild, PlayGround-NY, Irondale, Imaginarium Theatre Company, Mid-America Theatre Conference, Kennedy Center's American College Theatre Festival, Theater For The New City, Swarm Artist Residency, The Workshop Theater, Campfire Theatre Festival, Ars Nova's ANT Fest, Theatre Evolve, The Annoyance, Theater Masters, The Bechdel Group, Possibilities Theatre Company, and Mildred's Umbrella Theater Company.

Lauren's a member of the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop and The Actors Studio Playwright/Directors Unit. She's been a Playwrights’ Center Core Apprentice, Resident Writer with A Collective Artists, and Sitka Fellow. Her work's been published by Samuel French. Additionally, she’s been a semi-finalist for the Princess Grace Award.

Lauren is a graduate of The Second City's Conservatory and Writing programs. She received her B.A. from Sarah Lawrence College and her M.F.A. from Carnegie Mellon University where she was the recipient of the Mary Marlin Fisher Playwriting Award and the Jean & Samuel Elgart ACS Legacy Fellowship.