Shannon TL Kearns
Affiliated Writer
Minneapolis, MN
founder and artistic director of Uprising Theatre Company, writer, believes stories can change the world.
Biography

Shannon TL Kearns is a transgender man who's playwriting is obsessed with big questions told through small stories. He is committed to work by and for marginalized communities, using writing to create a new future for all of us. Shannon is a recipient of the Playwrights’ Center Jerome Fellowship in 20/21 and a Lambda Literary Fellow for 2019. Shannon was selected for Seven Devils Playwrights’ Conference 2021. Shannon is going to be the William Inge House playwright in residence for summer of 2021. He was awarded a spot in the HBMG Foundations’ Winter Playwright Retreat in 2018 and 2019. He and his plays have been: a finalist for the Equity Library Theatre of Chicago’s Reading Series, 2019 TransLab, and American Stages 2019 New Play Festival. He was a semi-finalist for SPACE on Ryder farm in 2020. He founded and was the Artistic Director of Uprising Theatre Company in Minneapolis, MN.

Shannon’s plays include Body+Blood, in a stand of dying treesLine of SightBeautiful Twisted Deaths, The Resistance of My Skin, and Who Has Eyes To See. He has two television pilots: Transformed and The Family Unit.

Successes

The 2021 Conference will feature the development and online presentation of  work of four playwrights, selected from 650 open submissions, a free online playwriting workshop led by 2021 featured playwright Tira Palmquist, PLUS two live and in person workshops in McCall, Idaho led by the founders of Boise's Campfire Theatre Festival. Company artists will also serve as mentors for students in the McCall Donnelly High School drama class.

BODY + BLOOD
​by Shannon TL Kearns
As whispers become a roar and threats mount, Joshua stands in front of his congregation plagued by doubts. He knows he is called and yet he can’t help but wonder if it makes a difference. If he can make a difference. If he’s enough. Or if maybe he’s too much of too many things-- transgender man, bartender, priest—too fractured to heal the suffering souls of others. But when, in a moment of chaos, he calls out in despair the answer is clear: there is more to this story.

​​Wednesday, June 16th at 8pm ET  ​​
7pm Central / 6pm Mountain / 5pm Pacific