Marisa Carr
Affiliated Writer
Chicago, IL

Playwright, actor and singer/composer Marisa Carr was born and raised in Milwaukee but now lives in Minneapolis. In 2014 Lavender Magazine named her “Best New Political Playwright” for her play Reconciliation, which it described as “stunningly intelligent”. In 2015 she was a Naked Stages fellow at Pillsbury House + Theatre, where she wrote and performed her solo play Static. She is a member of the

Unit Collective and a core artist at New Native Theatre, where she composed the original score for 2012: The Musical! (book by Rhiana Yazzie). You can learn more about Marisa’s work at


 The new Victory Gardens Playwrights Ensemble are Marisa Carr, Keelay Gipson, Isaac Gómez and Stacey Rose. They will serve a three-year term from 2021–2024, and during that time will have the opportunity to present a new work at the Ignition Festival of New Plays, as well as a world-premiere production as part of the VG season at the Biograph. Our Ensemble Playwrights will also help me select the next cohort of playwrights, whose term will begin with the 2024/25 Season.

Marisa Carr is playwright from Milwaukee, now living in Chicago after a decade in the Twin Cities. She is Co-Founder/former Artistic Director of the Turtle Theater Collective, a Twin Cities-based company committed to producing high-quality, contemporary work that explores Native experiences and subverts expectations about how and when Native artists can create theater. She is Turtle Mountain Ojibwe from the Turtle clan

Affiliated writer Marisa Carr receives Indigenous Artist Commission from Montana Repertory Theatre. More information here.

Affiliated writer Marisa Carr has been selected as a participant in The Goodman Theatre’s 2020-21 Playwrights Unit. More information here.

Marisa Carr has been named one of the 2019-2020 Scratchpad Playwrights at The Playwrights' Realm. 

Member Marisa Carr has been selected as a winner of Foward Flux's THREE NEW AMERICAN PLAYS project, which will commission a trilogy of three new plays from three American playwrights, to be presented in 2019. More information available at