Announcing our new Playwrights' Center Core Writers

Our new Core Writers

The Playwrights' Center is happy to announce our new Core Writers!

Gina Femia, Emily Feldman, Sofya Levitsky-Weitz, Marvin González De León, Rachel Jendrzejewski, Jake Jeppson, Daaimah Mubashshi, and James Anthony Tyler.
The Core Writer Program at the Playwrights’ Center provides play development workshops and professional support over a three-year term. Work by Core Writers composes the Center’s public season (the PlayLabs new play festival in October and the Ruth Easton New Play Series, which runs December through April). 
Jeremy B. Cohen says of the new Playwrights’ Center Core Writers, "The amazing cohort of new Core Writers is filled with many artists who have been on fellowships with us over the past decade—Emily Feldman, Marvin González De León, Jake Jeppson, Rachel Jendrzejewski, Sofya Levitsky-Weitz, and James Anthony Tyler, as well as welcoming Gina Femia and Daaimah Mubashshir...all of whose work I have deeply admired for a long time."     

Gina Femia (Brooklyn, N.Y.), whose plays include ALLOND(R)AWe Are a MasterpieceThe Mermaids' ParadeAnnie and the Fat ManFor The Love Of, and The Violet Sisters.

Emily Feldman (New York, N.Y.), who is an alumna of The Working Farm at SPACE on Ryder Farm, I-73 at Page 73, and the Jerome Fellowship/Core Apprenticeship at the Playwrights’ Center.

Marvin González De León (Minneapolis, Minn.), whose work has been produced and developed throughout the country. He is a 2018-19 Many Voices Fellow at the Playwrights’ Center.

Sofya Levitsky-Weitz (Brooklyn, N.Y.), who is a graduate of Loyola Marymount, and Northwestern Universities, is a current Jerome Fellow at the Playwrights’ Center and whose plays include Gehinnom and This Party Sucks

Rachel Jendrzejewski (Minneapolis, Minn.) whose work has been presented by the Walker Art Center, Red Eye Theater, ICA/Boston, Tricklock Company and Joe’s Pub at The Public Theater, among others. Rachel is a former Jerome and McKnight fellow at the Playwrights’ Center.

Jake Jeppson (Brooklyn, N.Y.), whose work has been supported by the National Theatre, Soho Theatre, National Theatre of Scotland, Ars Nova, Asolo Rep and Fault Line. He is a former Jerome Fellow at the Playwrights’ Center.

Daaimah Mubashshir (New York, N.Y.), whose awards include a 2018 Audrey Residency, a MacDowell Colony Fellowship and a Foundation of Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant.

James Anthony Tyler (New York, N.Y.), who is the recipient of the 3rd Annual Horton Foote Playwriting Award, an inaugural playwright to receive a commission from Audible, and a former Many Voices Fellow at the Playwrights’ Center.