Our 2019-20 Season
Our 2019-20 Season

Photo by Paula Keller

The Playwrights’ Center is delighted to announce our 2019-20 public season. It consists of our Ruth Easton New Play Series, celebrating its 25th anniversary, and our renowned PlayLabs Festival, now in its 36th year. These free performances are an opportunity to share the work that our incredible Core and Affiliated Writers are developing. The writers receive intensive time to work on their plays with nationally acclaimed directors along with visionary actors, designers, and dramaturgs. The majority of the plays developed in the public season go on to production in the Twin Cities and across the country. 

Of the 70+ plays we develop each year, eight are selected to be part of our public season, giving our playwrights intensive workshop time with collaborators and the chance to see their new work on its feet in front of two different audiences. Readings in PlayLabs and the Ruth Easton New Play Series feature top local and national actors and incorporate design elements, giving audience members a unique way to experience new work and a chance to be part of the creative process. Join us in celebrating these wonderful writers, telling the stories that need to be heard. 

PlayLabs

New Life
by Dan O’Brien
October 21 & 26

Cannabis Passover
by Sofya Levitsky-Weitz
October 22 & 25

Pan Genesis
by Marvin González De León
October 23 & 26

Playwriting Fellows Showcase
Work by: W. David Hancock, Candrice Jones, Cristina Luzárraga, Courtney Meaker, Heather Raffo, Stacey Rose, Tylie Shider, and Kit Yan
October 27

Ruth Easton New Play Series

December
by Marisela Treviño Orta
December 9 & 10

AUTHOR AUTHOR
by Jeffrey Hatcher & Sandra Struthers
January 13 & 14

Malvolio
by Betty Shamieh
February 3 & 4

#ROYCE
by Darren Canady
March 2 & 3

Tha Chink-Mart
by Ray Yamanouchi
April 6 & 7

Dan O'Brien
Monday, October 21, 2019 - 7:00pm, Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 1:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Sofya Levitsky-Weitz
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - 7:00pm, Friday, October 25, 2019 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Marvin González De León
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 7:00pm, Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Marisela Treviño Orta
Monday, December 9, 2019 - 7:00pm, Tuesday, December 10, 2019 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Jeffrey Hatcher & Sandra Struthers
Monday, January 13, 2020 - 7:00pm, Tuesday, January 14, 2020 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Betty Shamieh
Monday, February 3, 2020 - 7:00pm, Tuesday, February 4, 2020 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Darren Canady
Monday, March 2, 2020 - 7:00pm, Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free
Ray Yamanouchi
Monday, April 6, 2020 - 7:00pm, Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 7:00pm
Venue:
Playwrights' Center
Cost:
Free